Kolkata to function as district from September

Published on by 7bighagroup


Come September, the city will have a new guardian — a district magistrate. Keen to improve citizen centric services, the government has decided to give the city an administrative makeover that will see Kolkata, with 141 wards and 67 police stations, begin its official innings as a district.

The Kolkata DM’s jurisdiction will be the same as that of the Kolkata Municipal Corporation and Kolkata Police. The Kolkata district will have four sub-divisions — North, South, Port and Jadavpur (East).

Unlike other district magistrates, the Kolkata DM will be a senior IAS officer of the rank of principal secretary. He will be assisted by four additional district magistrates (ADMs), 10 officers of the rank of deputy magistrate, a special land acquisition officer, a project officer-cum-district welfare officer, a district youth officer, an additional deputy controller (civil defence), a district minority affairs officer, and group C and D officers.

On Saturday, chief secretary Samar Ghosh chaired a meeting at Writers’ Buildings to discuss making the state capital administratively functional as a district. Several administrative and functional problems keep surfacing in the city because of its essentially metropolitan structure. “Kolkata will now be a district. Jhargram, which is already a police district, will also be a proper district,” Ghosh said.


www.7bigha.com allows Property listings all across the India. Just register YourSelf and List Properties all Across the India Absolutely Free and Recieve Genuine Clients for Your Property.

a.) Click to Advertise your Property.

b.) Click to sign up if you are already registered.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post